Rural primary health service

Rural primary health service

People living in rural and remote NT communities have decreased access to primary health care services compared to urban communities. This can greatly impact their overall health and wellbeing.

What’s the program?

The Rural Primary Health Service program supports Aboriginal community-controlled health services, non-government organisations and the NT Department of Health to deliver targeted, comprehensive primary health care specific to the community’s needs. This includes health promotion, prevention and allied health services using evidence-based practice.

Health service providers deliver programs through a collaborative approach with community groups and health professionals.

Which organisations and regions are in the program?

Tennant Creek – Anyinginyi Health Aboriginal Corporation

Borroloola – Northern Territory Department of Health

Galiwinku – Family and Schools Together (FAST NT)

Galiwinku  Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation

Jabiru – Northern Territory Department of Health

Jabiru – Red Lily Health Board

Katherine West – Katherine West Health Board

Elcho Island – Miwatj Health Aboriginal Corporation

Katherine – Sunrise Health Service Aboriginal Health Corporation

Utopia Homelands – Arid Edge Environmental Services

Contact Us