Community Advisory Council

Our Community Advisory Council members have good knowledge of the health priorities in their communities. This might come from their personal experience as a patient or carer, or from their employment in areas like health consumer advocacy, population health, or community services. Members are not required to have clinical experience.

The Community Advisory Council is an advisory body offering strategic level guidance and counsel to NT PHN’s Board. It provides a community perspective, ensuring NT PHN’s decisions on matters that could influence and effect change, investments, and innovations are patient-centred, cost-effective, locally relevant, and aligned to local care expectations and experience.

Community Advisory Council members


The Council Chair is responsible for leading the Council, guiding meetings, focusing on important matters, developing work plans, setting standards, promoting effectiveness and development, maintaining relationships, ensuring administrative tasks are completed, and promoting diversity and representation within the Council.

Bec Bates (council chair)

Bec Bates is a Wellbeing Services Coordinator working with West Arnhem Regional Council in Maningrida. She has a Masters in Public Health at Charles Darwin University and Menzies School of Health Research.

Max Yffer (deputy chair)

Max has been a psychologist for over 20 years and has worked in the government, non-government and private sector including having his own practice. He is the Director and psychologist with Springside Services, a registered NDIS provider, and also works as a psychologist with headspace. 


The council members are expected to have a thorough understanding of the council’s role and function, actively participate and provide constructive input, represent the interests of different stakeholders, maintain productive relationships with other councils, attend and contribute to meetings, communicate effectively, treat fellow members with respect, and discharge their responsibilities with due care and diligence.

Heather D’Antoine

Heather has 25 years of experience in health services as a registered nurse and midwife and as a health service manager in both Aboriginal health services and general health services across Western Australia.

Alison Cunynghame

Alison Cunynghame is studying to become a Lived Experience advocate and peer worker. She draws from her experiences within the mental health and disability systems to assist others facing similar challenges.

Cecilia Johns

Cecilia Johns has worked for Sunrise Health Service Aboriginal Corporation for over 12 years, specialising in Physical Activity and Health Promotion.

Kiera McClelland

Kiera McClelland is a Speech Pathologist and Director specialising in paediatrics and early intervention for speech and language difficulties, as well as clinical education and supervision.


Leonie Hunter

Leonie Hunter is a Tiwi Iwaidja woman who has lived experience caring for people living with mental ill-health.

Lynette De Santis

Lynette De Santis is a Tiwi woman who served as the Mayor of the Tiwi Islands Regional Council for three terms from 2008 to 2017. She currently holds a position as a Councillor representing Milikapiti Ward. 

Nathan Garrawurra

Nathan Garrawurra is an Aboriginal Health Practitioner who comes from the remote community of Galuwinku.

Samuel James Goding

Samuel is an experienced peer support worker with lived experience of mental health and addiction support services.

Steven Satour

Steven Satour is a director of the Central Australian Aboriginal Alcohol Programs Unit. Previously, he worked for 4 years as the board of directors chairman at the Institute for Aboriginal Development.